Obama declares flood disaster in 22 North Dakota counties

Bismarck, North Dakota (AP) May 2010

President Barack Obama has declared a federal disaster for 22 North Dakota counties and the Spirit Lake Sioux reservation.

The move will provide federal aid to repair damage from recent spring flooding. Gov. John Hoeven said it should apply to damage that’s happened since Feb. 26.

The declaration means the federal government will cover three-quarters of the cost of repairing public works.

The affected counties are Barnes, Benson, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, LaMoure, Logan, Mercer, Morton, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele, Stutsman, Traill, Walsh and Wells.

Earlier, the president declared a disaster for 12 North Dakota counties and the Standing Rock Sioux reservation in response to an early April snowstorm.