Virginia senators reintroduce tribal-recognition bill

Richmond, Virginia (AP) March 2011

Virginia’s two senators have reintroduced legislation that would grant federal recognition to six of Virginia’s American Indian tribes.

Sens. Jim Webb and Mark Warner said in a release that they’ve introduced the Indian Tribes of Virginia Federal Recognition Act.

Last year a committee approved the measure, but it didn’t receive a vote in the full Senate.

The six Virginia tribes are the Chickahominy Tribe; the Chickahominy Indian Tribe - Eastern Division; the Upper Mattaponi Trib; the Rappahannock Tribe; the Monacan Indian Nation; and the Nansemond Indian Tribe.

Federal recognition would qualify the six tribes for certain federal benefits.

Rep. Jim Moran also re-introduced the Indian Tribes of Virginia Federal Recognition Act in the House of Representatives.